Six Nobel prizes and honorary academicians will participate in two cycles promoted by the La Caixa Foundation and the Cajasol Foundation

Science seen through the eyes of the Nobel Prizes

Science seen through the eyes of the Nobel Prizes

The Nobel laureates and honorary academicians of the Royal European Academy of Doctors-Barcelona 1914 (RAED) Aaron Ciechanover, Jerome Friedman, Sheldon Glashow, Erwin Neher, Richard Roberts and Ada Yonath will participate in science conferences organized by La Caixa Foundation and the Cajasol Foundation in collaboration with the RAED.

The sessions will open on January 29 with the inauguration in Barcelona of the cycle of conferences “La ciencia vista a través de los ojos de los Premios Nobel” (Science seen through the eyes of the Nobel Prizes), organized by La Caixa Foundation and the Royal Academy with the presentation of the Nobel prize in Chemistry in 2004 Aaron Ciechanover “Development of Medicines in the 21st Century: will we cure all diseases?”. The next day, January 30, Ciechanover will also be the main speaker of the “Talento Nobel” (Nobel Talent) program organized in Seville by the Cajasol Foundation and the RAED. In total, six Nobel laureates and academicians of the RAED will participate in both cities.

In CosmoCaixa in Barcelona the sessions are also scheduled with the Nobel Ada Yonath (Chemistry Nobel in 2009), who on February 6 will give the lecture “From basic science to improved antibiotics”; Erwin Neher (Nobel prize in Medicine in 1991), who on February 20 will speak on “Ionic channels: their discovery, functions and their role in medicine and pharmacology”; Richard Roberts (Nobel prize in Medicine in 1993), who on March 22 will expose “A crime against humanity”; Jerome Friedman (Nobel prize in Physics in 1990), who on April 26 will offer the talk “Are we really made of quarks?”, and Sheldon Glashow (Nobel in Physics in 1979), who will close the cycle on June 7 with the conference “Accidental discoveries in science”.

For its part, the “Nobel Talent” program will count in Seville with Nobel laureates Aaron Ciechanover on January 30, Ada Yonath on February 7 and Erwin Neher on February 22. For Alfredo Rocafort, president of the RAED, “one of the main objectives of the Academy is to disseminate science in society and there is no doubt that the involvement of our academicians who treasure a Nobel in this work is very important”.

fundación la caixalogo fundación cajasol