Pedro García Barreno, general secretary of the Spanish Institute, will co-chair with Alfredo Rocafort, president of the Royal European Academy of Doctors-Barcelona 1914 (RAED), the reception as honorary members of this institution of Aaron Ciechanover, Nobel prize in Chemistry in 2004; Björn O. Nilsson, president of the Royal Swedish Academo of Engineering Sciences; Ismail Serageldin, director of the Library of Alexandria and forme vicepresident of the World Bank, and Josep Maria Gil-Vernet, pioneer in numerous urological techniques.

With its presence, the Spanish Institute expresses its support and recognition to the RAED, one of its most active partner centers. The solemn ceremony will be held in Barcelona on 20 December as the culmination of a year of intense national and international activity. After the reception, the Royal Academy will celebrate its traditional Christmas dinner at the Círculo Ecuestre in Barcelona.