The Royal European Academy of Doctors-Barcelona 1914 (RAED) and the Community of Higher Education Institutions of La Laguna (Cieslag) signed on October 13 in Torreón, in the Mexican State of Coahuila, an agreement of academic, scientific and technology that extends the already signed in 2015 with a validity of three more years. The agreement was signed by the president of the Governing Board of the RAED, Alfredo Rocafort, and by the president of the Cieslag and coordinator of the Torreón Unit of the Autonomous University of Coahuila, Lorena Medina, within the framework of the Research Congress of the Cieslag, which was held in various municipalities of the States of Durango and Cohauila between the past 10 and 12 October.

The agreement, in force since 2015, has as its main purpose to promote the exchange of researchers and students between the different institutions and the development of common research projects. Likewise, since 2016 it awards an annual prize to the best doctoral thesis presented in one of the 32 higher education centres attached to the community, led by the Autonomous University of Cohauila and the La Salle Laguna University. The agreement is the result of the relationship that RAED and Cieslag forged with the support of the Department of Justice of the Catalan Government and the La Caixa Banking Foundation.

“The renewal of this agreement is the best sign that the relationship between our two institutions is solid and has been consolidated thanks to an intense work in common. This successful linkage encourages us to sign other collaboration agreements with other university centres and Mexican institutions that we will announce shortly”, Rocafort said. The RAED, in fact, already signed another agreement with the Autonomous University of Coahuila that both parties have already committed to renew.